Weekly outline

  • General

    Lecturer: Prof. G. Wellein (gerhard.wellein@fau.de), Martensstr. 1, Room 01.131. Phone -28136
    Location: The seminar will be conducted online for the time being.

    Zoom Link: TBA

    Time: Monday 16:00-17:30

    First seminar: Monday, April 19, 4 p.m. 5:15 p.m.


    Credits: 5 ECTS credits. This requires two talks and a written seminar report.

    Possible topics can be found in the intro talk (see below).

    Tutors:

    • Christie Louis Alappat (christie.alappat@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.025-113
    • Georg Hager (georg.hager@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.037-113
    • Julian Hammer (julian.hammer@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.037-113
    • Jan Eitzinger (jan.eitzinger@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.025-113
    • Thomas Gruber (thomas.gruber@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.025-113
    • Dominik Ernst (dominik.ernst@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.036-113
    • Ayesha Afzal (ayesha.afzal@fau.de), RRZE, Room 1.032-113


  • 19 April - 25 April

  • 26 April - 2 May

  • 3 May - 9 May

    Monday, May 3

    4:00 p.m:

    Bachelor thesis final talk by Sebastian Bönning: Integration of chip-level performance models into a parallel simulation framework

    https://fau.zoom.us/j/68692071381?pwd=VHByVFA0OGx1WUtuWHJ0Z2M4aCtldz09  Passcode: 800849

    5:00 p.m.:

    Thomas Gruber: Introduction to using the clusters and the LIKWID tool suite (part 1)

  • 10 May - 16 May

    4:00 p.m.:

    Nico Meyer: Variational Quantum Circuits for Policy Approximation" (master thesis inaugural talk)

    Zoom link: https://fau.zoom.us/j/68692071381?pwd=VHByVFA0OGx1WUtuWHJ0Z2M4aCtldz09  Passcode: 800849

    5:00 p.m.:

    Thomas Gruber: Introduction to using the clusters and the LIKWID tool suite (part 2)

  • 17 May - 23 May

    No seminar this week.

    • 24 May - 30 May

      No seminar (public holiday)

      • 31 May - 6 June

        Monday, May 31, 4:00 p.m.:

        Tobias Klöffel: Optimizing EMPIRE

        • 7 June - 13 June

          Monday, June 7, 4:00 p.m.:

          Matthias Knorr: Stencil Algorithms on GPUs (master thesis final talk)

          • 14 June - 20 June

            No seminar this week.

            • 21 June - 27 June

              There will be no seminar on Monday, June 21. Instead, you are invited to attend tomorrow's NHR PerfLab Seminar talk by Dr. Christian Terboven (RWTH Aachen) about "Tasking in OpenMP 5.0." Find all the details here:

              https://hpc.fau.de/2021/06/08/nhr-perflab-seminar-tasking-in-openmp-5-0/

              Christian is a renowned expert on OpenMP and a co-author of the textbook "OpenMP: The Next Step."

              • 28 June - 4 July

                This week's seminar takes place on Wednesday, June 30, 9:00 a.m.:

                Gonzalo Pinzon Walteros: SpMV Performance on modern CPUs using the Ginkgo Library (1st talk)

                 

                • 5 July - 11 July

                  Monday, July 5, 4:00 p.m.:

                  Alexander Lieret: Dense matrix transpose (first talk)

                  Zoom link: https://fau.zoom.us/j/68692071381?pwd=VHByVFA0OGx1WUtuWHJ0Z2M4aCtldz09  Passcode: 800849